Kunena 6.2.5 & module Kunena Latest 6.0.7 released

The Kunena team has announce the arrival of Kunena 6.2.5 [K 6.2.5] which is now available for download as a native Joomla extension for J! 4.3.x/4.4.x/5.0.x. This version addresses most of the issues that were discovered in K 6.1 / K 6.2 and issues discovered during the last development stages of K 6.2

This is for users to help other users, to discuss topics that are related to forum administration in general or problems in running Joomla. This is not the place to ask for Joomla support. If you want assistance with Joomla please ask at forum.joomla.org

Question How to develop Joomla extensions easily

More
4 years 2 months ago #1 by shoulders
I have posted this over at the Joomla forum but I was wondering what the Kunena Team's method was.

forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=727&t=975850

There might seem an obvious answer but please bear with me.

• I am an amateur programmer
  • I understand PHP, Webhosting, MySQL etc..
  • I can use NetBeans, xampp ftp etc...
  • I can use GitHub (not too bad)
  • I can write Joomla modules and plugins
  • I have written my own CRM software ~30,000 lines of code

But I cannot work out how to develop Joomla extensions easily. There are 2 methods I have tried:

(1) Have the extension in a separate folder, develop/code it in this folder, and after every change, install the extension from this folder into Joomla to see if the changes work.
Pro
  • Code is all neat in a single folder (repo) and I can easily push the changes to Github
  • Changes can be logged in the IDE or github easily.
Con
  • I have to install the extension everytime I make changes to see if they work in Joomla and this can take time.

(2) Install a basic version of the plugin, translation files, config file and then develop the php files in place.
Con
  • I have to re-install the extension for the configuration to be updated
  • Re-installing will causes my changes to be wiped out